Books from «Faust's Study»

Journey from the 15th Century to the Distant Past:
«Book of Chronicles from the Creation of the World with Figures and Images»

Hand coloured woodcut with  owner's coat of arms which was pained in later
Among the most noteworthy items in the collection of early printed books of the National Library of Russia is the Book of Chronicles (Liber cronicarum) by the medical doctor, historian and humanist Hartmann Schedel.

It is one of the most important and most famous incunabula (publications before 1501). This beautiful, lavishly illustrated work of art was first published in Latin in 1493 in Nuremberg, using the latest technological advances.

The book is better known as the Nuremberg Chronicle. Scholars also refer to it as Schedel's Chronicle or the World History. It became very popular among educated people in Europe in a very short time. The large folio volume (measuring 47х32 cm) with 286 pages of text has a great commercial success and became one of the first "best celler". The Chronicle was published in two editions in the same year: the first 1000 Latin copies printed in July (all of them were sold) were followed by 1000 German copies with the same illustrations a few months later, in December.

This magnificently designed and printed masterpiece was issued by the enterprise of the outstanding printer Anton Koberger who has 24 presses in operation and employed up to 100 workers: typesetters, printers and proofreaders and so on. Koberger was first to deal with questions that had never arised before in smaller format editions: how best to integrate illustrations and text, how to arrange them on a page successfully and make a space between text and images smaller. The printery coped brilliantly with the tasks.

Double-page with a map showing the known world and several woodcuts depicting monsters
«Liber cronicarum» is an illustrated compilation of historical and geographical data borrowed from the Bible, the works of ancient historians, medieval chronicles and combined with the author's original view of the events of contemporary history.

Readers have received the universal history of the world with great pictures. It was very different from those of that time: the scholastic Speculum historiale (Mirror of History) by Vincent of Beauvais or the most popular brief encyclopedia of history of the 15th century Fasciculus temporum (Bunch of times) by Werner Rolewinck, representing the events that took place simultaneously in different countries, or a chronicle of one city ( a lot of them were produced at that time).

The author was not a scholar-monk or a university professor: Hartmann Schedel (1440-1514) worked as a physician. He was born in Nuremberg in 1456, and educated at the University of Leipzig where he received a bachelor's degree in psychology and then a master's degree. In December 1463, a young man moved to Italy to study medicine at the University of Padua. Schedel practiced medicine for many year in different cities of Germany, and in 1484, he succeeded his uncle Herman Schedel as the city doctor in Nuremberg.

In Nuremberg, he entered the circle of the notable scholars and artists, one of the most famous German humanist groupes of his time. For the first ten years of work in Nuremberg, Schedel wrote his major historical work. In the 1493 Nuremberg edition, its title is given in the beginning of the text, 'The contents of this work is the Book of Chronicles from the creation of the world with figures and images'.

The huge volume contains 1809 (!) splendid woodcuts which much contributed to the widespread popularity of the book. The majority of illustrations are portraits, 4 - 5 per page, but among them are quite a few scenes depicting the construction of Noah's Ark, the camp of Taborites, the 1566 Constantinople earthquake and so on, and many diagrams (hail, comet, locusts, etc.) Particularly fascinating are the large, double-page city views. The views of German towns, including Nuremberg, are the most authentic. For instance, outside the walls of Nuremberg, you can see Stromer's paper mill which supplied paper for many publishers, and it is this mill at that the paper for the Chronicle was made.

Page from «Book of Chronicles» with a woodcut  depicting Corinth
Views of European cities were filled with detail: they show the location of the main buildings, cathedrals and fortified towers and so on extremely accurately. Today, they are invaluable historic sources, because many significant pieces of architecture were lost over time.

However, the pictures of biblical characters or heroes of antiquity certainly could not be accurate and reliable, as well as the images of dozens of popes, emperors and kings, saints and scholars are also invented. A likeness is achieved only in portraits of persons of the recent past. This makes the difficult task of illustrators much simpler: they didn’t need to make two thousand wooden blocks. The painters Wilhelm Pleydenwurff and Michael Wolgemut (Albrecht Dürer was his apprentice and is supposedly contributed woodcuts to the Chronicle) provide only 645 original blocks for the Chronicle. Many of the woodcuts were used more than once in the book. The same portrait represents several different men: once it was an Old Testament prophet, another time it stood for a Greek philosopher or Roman poet and, at last, it was repeated again as a scholar or Arab doctor.

Twenty eight wooden blocks were used to depict 198 popes mention by Schedel, and portraits of 224 kings from different countries were produced from a groupe of 44 woodcuts. The prints are traditional and sometimes very naive - they feature the creation of Adam from clay and Eve out of Adam's rib, diverse dog-head or one-eyed monsters "lived before the flood", "divine signs" - comets, auroras, etc. Many pictures represent kings, bishops, scholars, physicians, and so on, holding attributes of their authority (scepter and orb, crozier…) or symbols of their profession (a book, an astrolabe, a chessboard…). The most amusing are portraits of persons wearing eyeglasses or holding a pair of spectacles in their hands.

The text was written in a style that can be easily read and understood. It begins with the creation of the wold and the story of the expulsion from Paradise, then presents other events of the Old Testament supplemented with the tales of the Trojan War and the campaigns of Alexander the Great, etc.

The contents of the Chronicle are divided into sixthth ages: human history is interpreted as a linear progression from the creation of the world. The sixth age covers the period from the birth of Christ to the perpetually-changing present, it occupies more space in the book than the previous five. The final, seventh age is described as the age to come with the Advent of the Anti-Christ, the Last Judgement and the destruction of the earthly state. And since the sixth age had not ended yet, the book had some pages left blank - the owners could record themselves the most important events occurring after the author had put down his pen in June 1493 (the book was published on 12 July).

Woodcut depicting the Dances of Death
Among the most notable illustrations is the Dance of Death which is accompanied by a statement that only death equalizes all social classes. Despite the author was well educated man, he included "all the medieval legends, fables, all superstitious beliefs rejected and condemned by Italian humanists, contemporary to him,…" in the book. To illustrate this "information", there were made original prints depicting mythological human monsters: dog-headed or two-and three-headed creatures; monsters devoid of mouth; monopods with a single leg ending in a huge foot that so large they could lay on their backs and protect themselves against sunlight by the shade of their feet.


Historians have found out that most of the texts of the World Chronicle are extracts from various authors represented in Schedel's rich personal library. Among others, the Chronicle includes a quotation from History of Europe by the Italian humanist Enea Silvio Piccolomini (the future Pope Pius II) and a short historical and geographical essay About the European Region Sarmatia: they are placed on unnumbered pages in the 1493 Nuremberg edition. This additions were unchanged in subsequent editions of the book. The essay About the European Region Sarmatia is attributed to a German poet and humanist Konrad Celtis, this assumption is confirmed by the poetic ending of the last section. The author defines the boundaries of Sarmatia according to the ancient geographers: its territory includes Russia, Grand Duchy of Lithuania and Poland. While it is clear that he could not exactly imagine the proportions of these parts.

The Nuremberg Chronicle has a detailed index: the index of names contains not only the list of the emperors, kings, bishops and popes but also physicians and philosophers, language experts and other intellectuals. The index also includes geographical names, a list of concepts and references to specific historical events.

It is no exaggeration to say that Schedel's Chronicle is the best documented early printed book, because many of contracts, related to it, are still extant, including the original agreement for the preparation of the book, dating back to 1491; contracts for its production, and bills recording sales until 1509. Responding to a demand for a book, the publisher Johann Schönsperger from in Augsburg released three more editions of the Chronicle in a smaller size. In 1496, he printed German copies and, in 1497, issued his Latin edition which was followed in 1500 by another German edition.

Page from «Book of Chronicles» with hand coloured woodcuts
The National Library of Russia possesses 19 copies of the «Liber cronicarum»: these include 6 copies of the Latin edition published in Nuremberg on 12 July 1493; 4 copies of the German edition issued in Nuremberg on 23 December 1493; 3 copies of the Augsburg German edition printed on 18 September 1496; 5 copies of the Augsburg Latin edition released on 1 February 1497; one copy of the 1500 Augsburg German edition. Some of the copies are hand coloured. Noteworthy is a Latin copy from the Zaluski brothers collection, which was presented to the Imperial Library (the former name for the National Library of Russia) by the heirs of A. Venevitinov in 1885. The German copy, originating from the Jesuit College of Regensburg (Ratisbon), carries numerous readers' notes made during the 16th and 17th centuries.

Schedel, Hartmann. Liber chronicarum [Germ.] = Das Buch der Croniken und Geschichten. - Nuremberg: Anton Koberger, [1493.12.23]. - 2°.
Hartmann Schedel. Page from «Book of Chronicles». Hand coloured woodcut with the owner's coat of arms which was painted in later.
Schedel, Hartmann. Liber chronicarum [Germ.] = Das Buch der Croniken und Geschichten. - Nuremberg: Anton Koberger, [1493.12.23]. - 2°.
Hartmann Schedel. Page from «Book of Chronicles». Double-page with the map of known world and several woodcuts depicting monsters.
Schedel, Hartmann. Liber chronicarum. - Augsburg: Johann Schönsperger, [1497.02.1]. - 2°.
Hartmann Schedel. Page from «Book of Chronicles» with a woodcut showing Corinth.
Schedel, Hartmann. Liber chronicarum [Germ.] = Das Buch der Croniken und Geschichten. - Nuremberg: Anton Koberger, [1493.12.23]. - 2°.
Hartmann Schedel. Page from «Book of Chronicles». Pagewith a hand coloured woodcut depicting the worship of the golden calf.
Schedel, Hartmann. Liber chronicarum [Germ.] = Das Buch der Croniken und Geschichten. - Nuremberg: Anton Koberger, [1493.12.23]. - 2°.
Hartmann Schedel. Page from «Book of Chronicles»: Woodcut with showing the dance of death.
Schedel, Hartmann. Liber chronicarum. - Augsburg: Johann Schönsperger, [1497.02.1]. - 2°.
Hartmann Schedel. Page from «Book of Chronicles» with hand coloured woodcuts.

Книга из «Кабинета Фауста»

Путешествие из XV века в глубины истории:
«Книги хроник от создания мира с фигурами и изображениями»

Раскрашенная гравюра с врисованным изображением владельческого герба
Гордостью коллекции инкунабулов РНБ является «Книга хроник» («Liber cronicarum») учёного-гуманиста Гартмана Шеделя. В научной литературе её называют по-разному: Всемирная хроника, Нюрнбергская хроника, хроника Шеделя. Впервые она была напечатана на латинском языке в 1493 г. в Нюрнберге и сразу получила признание среди широкого круга образованных людей Европы. Выдающееся значение этого издания во многом обусловлено тем, что оно является замечательным техническим и художественным достижением. Огромный фолиант (47х32 см., 286 листов) стал одним из первых блестящих «издательских успехов»: первый латинский вариант был отпечатан тиражом свыше 1000 экземпляров (разошлись все), и всего через полгода, в декабре 1493 г., было выпущено немецкое переиздание с теми же иллюстрациями, также тиражом 1000 экземпляров.

Нюренбергский печатник Антон Кобергер, в типографии которого трудились до 100 человек наборщиков, печатников и корректоров и действовали 24 пресса, блестяще справился с работой. При этом пришлось решать вопросы, некоторые из которых прежде (в изданиях меньшего формата) не возникали: как лучше разместить иллюстрации рядом с текстом и среди текста, какая наиболее удачная «компоновка полосы», что сделать для сближения картинки и шрифта и т.п.

Разворот с картой, отразившей современные географические знания и рядом гравюр, изображающих монстров
«Liber cronicarum» представляет собой иллюстрированную компиляцию исторических и географических знаний. Её источники – Библия, произведения античных историков, средневековые хроники, а также собственные наблюдения за современными автору событиями. Читатели получили не привычные схоластические «Зерцало историческое» или «Море историй», не синхронистическую таблицу, вроде излюбленной в XV в. «Связки времен» Вернера Ролевинка, не хронику одного города (их к тому времени существовало достаточно много), но целостную всемирную историю с огромным материалом.

Автор не был ни ученым монахом, ни университетским профессором: Гартман Шедель (1440–1514) работал врачом. Он родился в Нюрнберге, в 1456 г. поступил в Лейпцигский университет, где получил степени бакалавра, а затем магистра. В декабре 1463 г. молодой человек направился в Италию, чтобы изучить медицину в Падуанском университете. Много лет Гартман Шедель занимался медицинской деятельностью в разных городах Германии, а в 1484 г. он заменил своего дядю Германа Шеделя на должности «фюзикуса» (городского врача) в Нюрнберге.

Тут он вошел в круг замечательных учёных и художников, один из известнейших гуманистических кружков Германии своего времени. За десять первых лет работы в Нюрнберге Шедель и написал свой главный исторический труд. В Нюрнбергском издании 1493 г. название обозначено в начале текста, перед содержанием: «Содержание этого труда – Книги хроник от создания мира с фигурами и изображениями».

Немалая заслуга в широкой популярности книги принадлежит её художественному оформлению. Огромный фолиант содержит 1809 (!) иллюстраций. Чаще всего это портреты, по 4 — 5 на странице, но немало и сцен (постройка Ноем ковчега, лагерь таборитов, землетрясение в Константинополе) или схем (градобитие, комета, саранча и т. п.). Особенно интересны крупные виды городов, среди них немецкие отличаются большой достоверностью и обилием деталей (так, под стенами Нюрнберга изображена та самая бумажная мельница Штромера, которая снабжала многих печатников, из нее вышла и бумага самой «Хроники»).

Страница из «Книги хроник» с гравюрой, изображающей Коринф
Виды европейских городов сделаны для хроники настолько точно, что фиксируют положение основных зданий, соборов и крепостных башен. До наших дней они являются бесценными историческими источниками – особенно в тех случаях, когда памятники были разрушены последующими войнами.

Однако никакой точности и достоверности не могло быть при изображении библейских персонажей или героев античности, да и в портретах многих десятков пап, императоров и королей, святых и ученых более близкого к автору тысячелетия. Портретность в современном понимании можно обнаружить только у лиц или деятелей недавнего прошлого. Эти обстоятельства несколько облегчили невероятно трудную задачу иллюстраторов, да и самого Кобергера: без малого две тысячи клише способны смутить любого издателя. На самом деле иллюстраторы (Михаэль Вольгемут и Вильгельм Плейденвурф, у которого как раз в эти годы учеником был знаменитый впоследствии Альбрехт Дюрер) обошлись всего 645 гравюрами, причем одно клише однажды служит для изображения ветхозаветного пророка, другой раз – греческого философа или римского поэта и еще раз встретится в качестве схоластического ученого или арабского врача.

Двадцать восемь изображений обслужили все папство, насчитывавшее к тому времени 198 преемников апостола Петра (все они упомянуты Шеделем), а для портретов 224 королей разных стран хватило всего 44 досок. Многое в этих гравюрах крайне наивно и всецело обусловлено традицией (сотворение Адама из глины, а Евы — из ребра спящего Адама, разные уроды-псоглавцы, одноглазы и т. д., «расплодившиеся до потопа», зарисовки «небесных знамений» — комет, полярных сияний и т. п.). Любопытно отметить на портретных гравюрах персонажей в очках и с очками в руках, многие портретируемые изображены с символами власти (епископским посохом, скипетром и державой), с книгой, астролябией, шахматной доской, кубком…

В содержании «Книги хроник» многое наивно и определено традицией: начинается оно с «сотворения мира», истории рая и изгнания из него «прародителей», следует вначале библейскому повествованию, смыкает с ним Троянскую войну и походы Александра Македонского и т. д.

По содержанию хроника Шеделя построена по традиционной схеме «четырех монархий» и «шести возрастов»: вся история человечества подаётся в линейном движении от Божественного создания мира, до современной автору эпохи. При этом «шестой возраст», который начался с приходом Христа и закончится появлением Антихриста, Страшным судом и гибелью земного государства, занимает в книге больше места, чем пять предыдущих. А поскольку шестой возраст еще не закончился, в книге оставлено несколько чистых листов – владельцы могли сами вписать важнейшие из событий, которые наступят после того, как автор отложил перо в июне 1493 г. (книга вышла в свет 12 июля).

Гравюра с изображением пляски смерти
В книге нашло место и изображение «пляски смерти», которое сопровождается размышлением о том, что лишь она уравнивает всяческую общественную несправедливость. Не смотря на гуманистическое образование автора, в «Нюрнбергской хронике» «…воспроизведены все средневековые легенды, басни, все суеверия и предрассудки, отвергнутые и осужденные современными ему итальянскими гуманистами...» . Для иллюстраций этих «сведений» выполнены оригинальные гравюры, изображающие эпиграмидов – псиглавцев, скиаподов, которые бегут на одной-единственной ноге, а желая защититься от солнечного света, сами ложатся, а огромную ступню развешивают над собой как зонт, вислоухов, двух- и трёх-головых существ, лишенных рта астоматов и тому подобных монстров. Любопытно, что в начале 21-го столетия некоторые российские любители истории и создатели «новой хронологии» (Е. Я. Габович, Г. В. Носовский, А. Т. Фоменко) проявили особый интерес к «Всемирной хронике» Г. Шеделя как книге, написанной до создания Жозефом Скалигером (1540-1609) современной хронологии истории.


Историками установлено, что большинство текстов «Всемирной хроники» являются выписками из различных авторов, представленных в богатой личной библиотеке Г. Шеделя. Среди прочих в хронику вошли отрывок из «Истории Европы» итальянского гуманиста Энея Сильвия Пикколомини и короткий историко-географический очерк «О европейском крае Сарматии» – в нюренбергском издании 1493 г. они размещены на ненумерованных листах. Это дополнение сохранялось и в последующих переизданиях книги. Автором очерка «О европейском крае Сарматии» мог быть немецкий поэт-гуманист Конрад Цельтес, что подтверждается, в том числе стихотворной концовкой последнего раздела. В очерке «О европейском крае Сарматии», автор определяет границы Сарматии согласно античных географов: сюда входят Русь, Великое Княжество Литовское и Польша. Хотя очевидно, что он далеко не точно представлял себе соотношение между этими частями.

Книга Шеделя снабжена подробным указателем: индекс имен содержит не только список лиц из церковной и гражданской истории, где наряду с императорами, королями, епископами и папами указаны также врачи и философы, грамматики и прочие интеллектуалы, но и географический указатель, список понятий и отсылки к отдельным историческим событиям.

Ни для одной из инкунабул не существует столь хорошо документированной картины создания книги: сохранились и первоначальное соглашение о подготовке книги, датируемое 1491 г., и договора, с ней связанные, и счета, демонстрирующие объем продаж вплоть до 1509 г. Учитывая спрос на книгу, издатель Иоганн Шёнспергер из Аусбурга возобновлял издание ещё несколько раз: в 1496 г. и 1500 г. на немецком и в 1497 г. на латинском языке, но уже меньшим, чем у Кобергера, форматом.

Страница из «Книги хроник» с раскрашенными гравюрами
Российская национальная библиотека располагает 19 экземплярами «Liber cronicarum»: это нюренбергское латинское (вышло 12.07.1493 г.) издание – 6 экземпляров, нюренбергское немецкое (23.12.1493 г.) издание – 4 экземпляра, аугсбургское немецкое (вышло 18.09.1496 г.) – 3 экземпляра, аугсбургское латинское (01.02.1497 г.) – 5 экземпляров, аугсбургское немецкое (1500 г.) – 1 экз. Некоторые из экземпляров раскрашены от руки. Интересен латинскоязычный экземпляр, происходящий из коллекции братьев Залуских, который был подарен в Императорскую библиотеку наследниками А.В. Веневитинова в 1885 г. На немецкоязычном экземпляре, происходящем из иезуитского коллегиума г. Регенсбурга (Ратисбона), имеются многочисленные читательские записи XVI и XVII вв.

Schedel, Hartmann. Liber chronicarum [Germ.] = Das Buch der Croniken und Geschichten. - Nuremberg: Anton Koberger, [1493.12.23]. - 2°.
Гартман Шедель. Страница из «Книги хроник». Раскрашенная гравюра с врисованным изображением владельческого герба.
Schedel, Hartmann. Liber chronicarum [Germ.] = Das Buch der Croniken und Geschichten. - Nuremberg: Anton Koberger, [1493.12.23]. - 2°.
Гартман Шедель. Страница из «Книги хроник». Разворот с картой, отразившей современные географические знания и рядом гравюр, изображающих монстров.
Schedel, Hartmann. Liber chronicarum. - Augsburg: Johann Schönsperger, [1497.02.1]. - 2°.
Гартман Шедель. Страница из «Книги хроник» с гравюрой, изображающей Коринф.
Schedel, Hartmann. Liber chronicarum [Germ.] = Das Buch der Croniken und Geschichten. - Nuremberg: Anton Koberger, [1493.12.23]. - 2°.
Гартман Шедель. Страница из «Книги хроник». Лист с раскрашенной гравюрой, изображающей поклонение золотому тельцу.
Schedel, Hartmann. Liber chronicarum [Germ.] = Das Buch der Croniken und Geschichten. - Nuremberg: Anton Koberger, [1493.12.23]. - 2°.
Гартман Шедель. Страница из «Книги хроник»: гравюра с изображением пляски смерти.
Schedel, Hartmann. Liber chronicarum. - Augsburg: Johann Schönsperger, [1497.02.1]. - 2°.
Гартман Шедель. Страница из «Книги хроник» с раскрашенными гравюрами.