Home page > Graphic Materials > Russian Christmas and New Year's Cards > Artist A. Krasovsky and «Rassvet»
Russian Christmas and New Year's  Cards

Russian Christmas and New Year's Cards


A. Krasovsky's Cards for the Rassvet Publishing House (Kiev)

Series of greeting postcards, including Christmas cards, were released by such a big publisher like the Kiev Rassvet printing house. In 1915, 8 drawings were executed by Alexandr Krasovsky for cards published by the printing house of S.V. Kulzhenko. The drawngs imitate techniques of Far Eastern art and present a strange contrast with their topics (most of them related to the events of the festival: an Angel in Heaven, the Annunciation to the Shepherds, the Procession of the Magi, the Adoration of the Child). The artist's unusual style was not only due to an attempt to attract attention of the public. It was also inspired by the ongoing First World War: at that time, China maintained neutrality, while Japan was an ally of Russia.

There is very little known about the author of these postcards – a graphic artist and a book printer. He lived in Kiev and studied there in the School of Printing Art between 1907 and 1910. The school was established in 1903 for apprentices of the printers and accepted persons of either sex, of either class, at the age of 12 to 16 years. The course included both technical and general subjects as well as practical training. One of the school founders was Stefan Kulzhenko, the owner of a well-known Kiev printing house. Much attention to this educational workshop was paid by his son Vasily who inherited the «printing house of S.V. Kulzhenko», in which Krasovsky served as a photographer when graduating the School of Printing. In 1910-1912, he was already a practice teacher in the same school. First he taught engraving and zincography, then photography.

Krasovsky executed by hand a copy of the catalogue of the exhibition of students' works, presented to Emperor Nicholas II in 1911 during his visit to Kiev. In 1914-1915, Krasovsky drew Christmas and Easter greetings cards and military cards for the Rassvet publishing house. In 1915, along with other artists, he illustrated the literary miscellany «Arion» and V.Z. Zavitnevich's Book «Vladimir the Red Sun» (in latter he drew only initials). In 1919, he carried out a font cover for the publication of V.M. Bazilevich's report «Izvet startsa Raphaela (False Accusattion of the Spiritual Father Raphael): about the Kiev state of public opinion from the time of Bohdan Khmelnytsky». Krasovsky is also considered to design Ukraine banknotes issued in 1918.


Alexandr Krasovsky.
Congratulations : [postcard]. - Kiev : Rassvet, [1915]. - Chromolithograph ; 14х9 cm.
Full description

Alexandr Krasovsky.
Happy Christmas : [postcard]. - Kiev : Rassvet, [1915]. - Chromolithograph ; 8,9х14 cm.
Full description

Alexandr Krasovsky.
Congratulations : [postcard]. - Kiev : Rassvet, [1915]. - Chromolithograph ; 14х8,9 cm.
Full description

Alexandr Krasovsky.
Happy Christmas : [postcard]. - Kiev : Rassvet, [1915]. - Chromolithograph ; 14х8,9 cm.
Full description

Alexandr Krasovsky.
Happy Christmas! : [postcard]. - Kiev : Rassvet, [1915]. - Chromolithograph ; 8,9х14 cm.
Full description

Alexandr Krasovsky.
Happy Christmas : [postcard]. - Kiev : Rassvet, [1915]. - Chromolithograph ; 14х8,9 cm.
Full description

Alexandr Krasovsky.
Happy Christmas : [postcard]. - Kiev : Rassvet, [1915]. - Chromolithograph ; 14,1х8,9 cm.
Full description

Alexandr Krasovsky.
Happy Christmas! : [postcard]. - Kiev : Rassvet, [1915]. - Chromolithograph ; 8,9х14,2 cm.
Full description

Русские рождественские и новогодние открытки

Русские рождественские и новогодние открытки


Открытки А.К. Красовского для издательства «Рассвет» (Киев)

Серии поздравительных открыток, в том числе рождественских, выпускало и такое крупное издательство, как киевский «Рассвет». Для одной из них, напечатанной в «Типографии С.В. Кульженко», 8 рисунков выполнил в 1915 г. Александр Константинович Красовский. Подражающие приемам дальневосточного искусства, они вступают в странный контраст с собственной сюжетной основой (большинство рисунков можно связать с событиями праздника: ангел в небе, благовестие пастухам, шествие волхвов, поклонение Младенцу). Стилистический выбор художника, возможно, объясняется не только попыткой привлечь зрителя-покупателя чем-то необычным, но и реалиями Первой мировой войны: на момент создания рисунков Китай поддерживал нейтралитет, а Япония была союзником России.

Об авторе этих открыток – графике, мастере-книгопечатнике – известно очень немного. Он жил в Киеве и в 1907-1910 гг. учился там в Художественно-ремесленной учебной мастерской печатного дела. Организованная в 1903 г. для учеников типографий, она принимала на обучение лиц обоего пола всех сословий в возрасте от 12 до 16 лет; в программе были и технические предметы, и общеобразовательные, а также практические занятия. Одним из ее устроителей стал Стефан Васильевич Кульженко, владелец известной киевской типографии. Много внимания Учебной мастерской уделял его сын Василий Стефанович Кульженко, унаследовавший «Типографию С.В. Кульженко». В ней Красовский служил фотографом, заканчивая обучение в Мастерской печатного дела. В 1910-1912 гг. в той же Учебной мастерской он являлся уже преподавателем практических занятий: сначала по граверному и цинкографическому делу, затем по фотографии.

Красовским был исполнен от руки экземпляр каталога выставки ученических работ, поднесенный в 1911 г. императору Николаю II во время его визита в Киев. В 1914-1915 гг. Красовский рисовал для издательства «Рассвет» открытки на военные сюжеты и поздравительные: рождественские и пасхальные. В 1915 г. он, наряду с другими художниками, иллюстрировал литературный сборник «Арион» и книгу В.З. Завитневича «Владимир – Красно солнышко» (в ней ему принадлежат только инициалы), а в 1919 г. выполнил шрифтовую обложку к изданию доклада В.М. Базилевича «Извет старца Рафаила: из киевских настроений времени Богдана Хмельницкого». Красовского, кроме того, называют автором эскизов денежных знаков Украины 1918 года выпуска.


Красовский, Александр Константинович.
С праздником : [открытка]. - Киев : Рассвет, [1915]. - Хромолитография ; 14х9 см.
Полное описание

Красовский, Александр Константинович.
С праздником Рождества Христова : [открытка]. - Киев : Рассвет, [1915]. - Хромолитография ; 8,9х14 см.
Полное описание

Красовский, Александр Константинович.
С праздником : [открытка]. - Киев : Рассвет, [1915]. - Хромолитография ; 14х8,9 см.
Полное описание

Красовский, Александр Константинович.
С праздником Рождества Христова : [открытка]. - Киев : Рассвет, [1915]. - Хромолитография ; 14х8,9 см.
Полное описание

Красовский, Александр Константинович.
С праздником Рождества Христова! : [открытка]. - Киев : Рассвет, [1915]. - Хромолитография ; 8,9х14 см.
Полное описание

Красовский, Александр Константинович.
С праздником Рождества Христова : [открытка]. - Киев : Рассвет, [1915]. - Хромолитография ; 14х8,9 см.
Полное описание

Красовский, Александр Константинович.
С праздником Рождества Христова : [открытка]. - Киев : Рассвет, [1915]. - Хромолитография ; 14,1х8,9 см.
Полное описание

Красовский, Александр Константинович.
С праздником Рождества Христова! : [открытка]. - Киев : Рассвет, [1915]. - Хромолитография ; 8,9х14,2 см.
Полное описание