Home page > Graphic Materials > Russian Christmas and New Year's Cards > Postcards by the Community of St. Eugene and other publishers
Russian Christmas and New Year's  Cards

Russian Christmas and New Year's Cards


Postcards by the Community of St. Eugene (Saint Petersburg) and other publishers

The famous Stockholm publisher of E. Svanström has quite a different approach to picture cards, to which the artist Nikolaev much contributed. He depicted scenes of rural life, played out about snow-covered buildings.

In the traditions of Russian realistic graphics, there was executed Ivan Simakov's (1877-1925) drawing for the card «Carol-singers», showing peasant boys who go with the Christmas star to glorify Christ and to congratulate people on the holiday. Simakov received architectural education, but, mainly, occupied himself with book illustrations.

He made three cards for the Community of St. Eugenia, the largest Russian publisher of postcards. All of them are Cristmas greeting cards issued just in time for the holiday: «For Cristmas Trees» was published in November 1909, «Carol-singers» came out in December 1910, the illustration to the scene of Tatiana's divination on Christmas Eve from Pushkin's «Eugene Oneginraquo; («"What's your name?" she asks him. He looks, and answers: "Agafon."») was released in December 1911.

Girls Divination is the old tradition that falls on Christian Christmastide (public holidays between Christmas and Epiphany). The romantic and picturesque rite has always attracted artists and has repeatedly appeared on postcards.

The same Community of St. Eugenia issued the «Divination» by Fyodor Buchholz (1857-1942) in December 1907. The painting of the unparalleled popularity - «Fortune Telling on Christmastide» by Nikolai Pimonenko, was published twice in 1901 and 1905 (afterwards, the first chromolithographic variant was reproduced at least 12 times). The canvas, which brought success to the young artist, was painted in 1888 and 1898 and now is stored in the Russian Museum in Saint Petersbure. In addition to the Community, in the early 20th century, it was published by the Russian Museum, and Swedish Granberg's Joint-stock Company.

An image of an «urban» and at the same time «children's » Christmas holiday was created for The Community of St. Eugenia by the artist Victor Bobrov. Bobrov, a prolific portrait painter, watercolorist, engraver and master of drawing, worked with Community from 1901 to 1917. He left a gallery of salon female "heads" and vivid pictures of noble girls, against a background of which the drawing «At the Christmas Tree», made in 1905, stands out with its sincerity and simplicity of execution. A year earlier, The Community of St. Eugenia released a series of 10 Christmas children's cards after the originals by Agnes Lindeman (1878 -?) , a watercolour paiter, illustrator and embroideress.


Nikolai Pimonenko (1862-1912). Fortune Telling on Christmastide = La bonne aventure pendant les fêtes de Noël : [postcard] / N. Pimonenko. - Stockholm : Granbergs Aktiebolag, [between 1904 and 1917]. - Coloured autotype ; 13,8х8,9 cm.
Full description

Ivan Simakov (1877-1925).
Carol-singers : open letters / I. Simakov. - [Saint Petersburg : Сommunity of St. Eugenie, 1910]. - Coloured autotype ; 13,9х9,1 cm.
Full description

Nikolaev.
[Peasant Children Decorating the Christmas Tree] : open letters. - [Stockholm] : E. G. S. i. S., [between 1904 and 1917]. - Coloured autotype ; 8,9х13,9 cm.
Full description

Nikolaev.
Merry Christmas : postcard. - [Stockholm] : E. G. S. i. S., [between 1904 and 1912]. - Coloured autotype ; 8,9х13,9 cm.
Full description

Nikolaev.
Merry Christmas : postcard. - [Stockholm] : E. G. S. i. S., [between 1904 and 1913]. - Coloured autotype ; 8,9х13,9 cm.
Full description

Victor Bobrov (1842-1918).
At the Christmas tree : open letters. - [Saint Petersburg : Сommunity of St. Eugenie, 1905]. - Phototype ; 9х14 cm.
Full description

Agnes Lindeman (1878-).
[A Dream] : open letters. - [Saint Petersburg : Сommunity of St. Eugenie, 1904]. – Chromolithograph ; 9х14,2 cm.
Full description

Русские рождественские и новогодние открытки

Русские рождественские и новогодние открытки


Открытки Общины святой Евгении (Санкт-Петербург) и других издательств

Совершенно по-иному решены открытки другого известного стокгольмского издателя – Э. Сванстрема, с которым сотрудничал художник по фамилии Николаев. Это сцены из сельского быта, разыгранные около занесенных снегом построек.

В традициях русской реалистической графики выполнен рисунок Ивана Васильевича Симакова (1877-1925) для открытки «Славильщики», изображающей крестьянских мальчиков, которые идут с рождественской звездой славить Христа и поздравлять всех с праздником. Симаков, получивший архитектурное образование, занимался преимущественно книжной иллюстрацией.

Для крупнейшего из отечественных издательств открыток – Общины святой Евгении – он сделал в общей сложности три открытки, причем сюжеты всех трех и время их выхода из печати, очевидно, приурочены к празднику: «За елками» – в ноябре1909 г., «Славильщики» – в декабре 1910 г.,  «Как Ваше имя? – Смотрит он и отвечает: Агафон» (сцена из святочного гадания Татьяны в пушкинском «Евгении Онегине») – в декабре 1911 г.

Девичье гадание – языческий обряд, приходившийся на христианские Святки (праздничные дни между Рождеством Христовым и Крещением Господним), своей романтической живописностью привлекал художников и неоднократно появлялся на открытках.

То же издательство Общины святой Евгении в декабре 1907 г. выпустило «Гаданье» Федора Федоровича Бухгольца (1857-1942), а к непревзойденной по популярности картине Николая Корнильевича Пимоненко (1862-1912) «Святочное гаданье» обращалось дважды, в 1901 и 1905 г. (при этом первый, хромолитографированный вариант выдержал впоследствии не менее 12 изданий). Полотно, принесшее успех молодому живописцу, было написано в 1888 г. и с 1898 г. хранится в Русском музее в Санкт-Петербурге. Помимо Общины, на открытках в начале XX в., издавали его и Русский музей, и шведское Акционерное общество Гранберга.

Образ «городского» и одновременно «детского» рождественского праздника создал для Общины святой Евгении художник Виктор Алексеевич Бобров (1842-1918). Этот плодовитый мастер – живописец-портретист, работавший также в технике гравюры, занимавшийся акварелью и рисунком – сотрудничал с Общиной с 1901 по 1917 гг. Он оставил целую галерею салонных женских «головок» и ярких «боярышень», на фоне которой рисунок 1905 г. «У елки» выделяется искренностью персонажей и простотой исполнения. Годом раньше рождественская серия из 10 открыток с детскими сюжетами была выпущена Общиной святой Евгении по оригиналам Агнессы Эдуардовны Линдеман (1878-?) – акварелистки, иллюстратора и вышивальщицы.


Пимоненко, Николай Корнильевич (1862-1912). Святочное гаданье = La bonne aventure pendant les fêtes de Noël : [открытка] / Н.К. Пимоненко. - Stockholm : Granbergs Aktiebolag, [между 1904 и 1917]. - Цветная автотипия ; 13,8х8,9 см.
Полное описание

Симаков, Иван Васильевич (1877-1925).
Славельщики : открытое письмо / И. Симаков. - [Санкт-Петербург : Община св. Евгении, 1910]. - Цветная автотипия ; 13,9х9,1 см.
Полное описание

Николаев.
[Крестьянские дети, украшающие рождественскую елку] : открытое письмо. - [Stockholm] : E. G. S. i. S., [между 1904 и 1917]. - Цветная автотипия ; 8,9х13,9 см.
Полное описание

Николаев.
С Рождеством Христовым : почтовая карточка. - [Stockholm] : E. G. S. i. S., [между 1904 и 1912]. - Цветная автотипия ; 8,9х13,9 см.
Полное описание

Николаев.
С Рождеством Христовым : почтовая карточка. - [Stockholm] : E. G. S. i. S., [между 1904 и 1913]. - Цветная автотипия ; 8,9х13,9 см.
Полное описание

Бобров, Виктор Алексеевич (1842-1918).
У елки : открытое письмо. - [Санкт-Петербург : Община св. Евгении, 1905]. - Фототипия ; 9х14 см.
Полное описание

Линдеман, Агнесса Эдуардовна (1878-).
[Сон] : открытое письмо. - [Санкт-Петербург : Община св. Евгении, 1904]. – Хромолитография ; 9х14,2 см.
Полное описание