Books from
the «Faust Study»

Birds Images in Incunabula

Popular in the Middle Ages became a book of ancient Indian philosophical fables, in which birds are ones of the characters. The fables are attributed to Brahmin Vishnu Sharma who has composed the Panchatantra collection of moralizing stories in order to teach a certain Raja to wisely govern the country.

The Panchatantra consists of five didactic stories that features animals with human qualities, morals and manners to illustrate principles of human society. One of the five stories entitled «The Legend of the War between Crows and Owls» is narrated by the jackals Karataka and Damanaka. In the middle of the eighth century, there appeared the Arabic translation of the «Panchatantra» entitled «Kalila and Dimna»: the two jackals - storytellers' names transmogrified into Kalila and Dimna. Under this title, it became famous in the entire Middle East.

In the thirteenth century, the Arabic version was translated into Spanish by unknown author and into Hebrew by Rabbi Ioel. In the same century (between 1262 and 1269), John of Capua translated the Jewish text into Latin, calling it Directorium humanae vitae alias Parabolae antiquorum sapientium («A Manual of a Human Life or the Fables of the Ancient Wisdom» ). This Latin translation formed the basis for German, Spanish and Italian versions. In Byzantium and later in the Slavic countries, the «Kalila and Dimna», ie «Panchatantra», was known as the «Stefanit and Ihnilat».

Engraving illustrations to this publication include abstract images of birds - for the author, it is more important to show not the species but the action. Birds are depicted in the scenes with other animals (fish, lions, dogs, deer, snakes). Among the images are traps for catching birds.

The «Dialogues of Creatures» («Dialogus creaturarum») are worth of special notice among the early printed editions of fables at the National Library of Russia. It was the first book ever printed in Sweden: the «Dialogues of Creatures» was printed in Stockholm in 1483 by Johann Snell. The fables were compiled by Mayno de Mayneri (Maynus de Mayneriis, c. 1300-1360), a physician and astrologer, well known in his time.

Numerous engravings - illustrations in the book are primitive in drawing, but in the copy held in the National Library of Russia, they are painted with great taste. A cock, geese, a parrot and an owl are represented among the images of birds. However, in most drawings, the birds lack for individual characteristics.

In medieval books, birds are often shown both in realistic scenes of hunting and symbolic ,in particular, astrological illustrations.

The parchment copy of «The Art of Falconry and Hunting with Hounds» («L’Art de fauconnerie et des chiens de chasse») by Guillaume Tardif, stored in the Faust Study, is executed in the style of so-called "printed manuscripts" - luxury editions which were designed by Parisian printing houses for king and his entourage. The book was published by an unidentified Paris printer in 1493 for the publisher and bookseller Antoine Verard. Decorated by hand, «The Art of Falconry» is compiled using ancient hunting treatises and not only gives an introduction to hunting with birds and hounds, but also provides a variety of information on the selection, breeding and training falcons and greyhounds, about treatment and care for them. The text is printed in "bastard" (a graceful typeface modeled after the Gothic writing of the same name with elements of italics). The engraving on the title page portrays the author handing the manuscript to the customer as well as the royal couple (Charles VIII and Anne of Brittany) who goes hunting, accompanied by a retinue.

And even so, despite the presence of some very realistic illustrations depicting birds in incunabula, the main portion of pictures are schematic images showing not characteristics of a bird but simply general features of a species. For instance, examine an image from the illuminated parchment «Astrolabe» («Astrolabium») by Johannes Engel, which entered the Public Library together with the collection of Piotr Sukhtelen and includes a book of dream interpretations (Augsburg, Erhard Ratdolt, 1488).

The next part of this review will narrate about the birds in the books of the 16th-17th centuries, and the third part will present editions of the 18th - first quarter of the 19 centuries.

The bibliographic basis of the second and third part is the Catalogue of the Special Holdings in the Library of the Zoological Institute of the Academy of Sciences of Russia, compiled by K. Yuriev and published in 1994, as well as catalogues and books from the collections of both the Rare Books Department of the National Library of Russia and the Zoological Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences. This is a joint work of staff of our library and the Zoological Institute.

Birds images in the copy Directorium humanae vitae alias Parabolae antiquorum sapientium from the Faust Study.
Birds in «Dialogues of Creatures» by Mayno de Mayneri (Maynus de Mayneriis. «Dialogus creaturarum», Stockholm, 1483)
Guillaume Tardif. «The Art of Falconry and Hunting with Hounds»
«L’Art de fauconnerie et des chiens de chasse»
«Astrolabe» («Astrolabium») by Johannes Engel (Augsburg, Erhard Ratdolt, 1488)

Изображения птиц в инкунабулах

Философские притчи

Популярной в средневековье книгой стали древнеиндийские философские притчи, где одним из героев также являются птицы. Автором их традиция называет брахмана Вишнушармана, который составил сборник поучительных рассказов, дабы научить некоего раджу мудрому управлению государством.

«Панчатантра» состоит из пяти повестей; их герои — животные, общество и нравы которых являются копией человеческих. Одна из пяти повестей называется «Сказание о войне ворон и сов»; рассказчиками выступают шакалы Каратака и Даманака. В середине VIII столетия появился арабский перевод «Панчатантры», озаглавленный Калила и Димна (трансформированные имена животных-рассказчиков) и под этим именем приобрёл известность на всём Ближнем и Среднем Востоке.

В XIII веке появились анонимный испанский перевод, еврейский перевод раввина Иоэля. В этом же столетии (в 1262—1269 гг.) Иоанн Капуанский перевёл сочинение «Калила и Димна», назвав его Directorium humanae vitae alias Parabolae antiquorum sapientium (Пути человеческой жизни или притчи древней мудрости) на латынь. Перевод Иоанна Капуанского был положен в основу версий на немецком, испанском и итальянском языках. В Византии, а затем и в славянских странах «Калила и Димна» – «Панчатантра» была известна в как «Стефанит и Ихнилат».

Гравюры-иллюстрации к этому изданию содержат обобщенные изображения птиц – автору важнее показать не породу, а действие. Птицы присутствуют в сценках с участием других животных (рыб, льва, собаки, оленя, змеи). В числе изображений – силки для ловли птиц.

Из имеющихся среди инкунабулов РНБ изданий басен особого упоминания заслуживают «Диалоги животных» («Dialogus creaturarum», Стокгольм, 1483 г.) – первая книга, напечатанная в Швеции Иоганном Шнелем. Автор её – Майнус Майнерский (Maynus de Mayneriis, ок. 1300–1360), известный в своё время врач и астролог.

Многочисленные гравюры-иллюстрации в книге примитивны по рисунку, но в экземпляре Российской национальной библиотеки они раскрашены с большим вкусом. Среди изображений птиц присутствуют петух, гуси, попугай, сова. Однако в большинстве рисунков птицы лишены индивидуальных особенностей.

В средневековых книгах птицы часто присутствуют и в реалистических сценах охоты и в символических (в частности, астрологических) иллюстрациях.

Хранящийся в Кабинете Фауста пергаменный экземпляр «Искусства соколиной и псовой охоты» («L’Art de fauconnerie et des chiens de chasse») Гильома Тардифа, выполнен в стиле так называемых «печатных рукописей», на изготовлении которых специализировались парижские типографии, предназначавшие свою продукцию королю и его окружению. Книга была напечатана неустановленным парижским типографом в 1493 г. для издателя и книготорговца Антуана Верара. Украшенное от руки «Искусство…» составленно на основе старинных охотничьих трактатов и не только излагает основы соколиной и псовой охоты, но и дает разнообразные сведения по отбору, выращиванию и обучению соколов и борзых, по лечению и уходу. Текст напечатан изящной «бастардой» (шрифтом, созданным по образцу одноименного готического письма с элементами курсива), титульная гравюра изображает автора, вручающего рукопись заказчику, и королевскую чету (Карла VIII и Анну Бретонскую), отправляющихся на охоту в сопровождении свиты.

И всё же, несмотря на наличие в инкунабулах отдельных, очень реалистично исполненных иллюстраций с изображением птиц, основная их масса – это схематические изображения, показывающее не столько особенности самой птицы, сколько её типаж (типаж вида). В качестве последнего примера приведём изображение из пергаменного иллюминованного экземпляра «Астролябии» («Astrolabium») Иоганна Энгеля, попавший в Публичную библиотеку из собрания П. К. Сухтелена и включающий толкователь снов (Аугсбург, Эрхард Ратдольт, 1488).

Следующая часть нашего обзора будет рассказом о птицах в книгах XVI–XVII веков, а в третьей – представлены издания XVIII – первой четверти XIX вв.

Библиографической основой второй и третьей части работы стал Каталог особого фонда библиотеки Зоологического института АН России, составленный К.Б. Юрьевым и изданный в 1994 г., а также каталоги и книги из собраний Отдела редких книг Российской национальной библиотеки и Зоологического института РАН. Это совместная работа сотрудников библиотеки Зоологического института РАН и Российской национальной библиотеки.

Изображение птиц в экземпляре Directorium humanae vitae alias Parabolae antiquorum sapientium из Кабинета Фауста.
Птицы в «Диалогах животных» Майнуса Майнерского (Maynus de Mayneriis. «Dialogus creaturarum», Стокгольм, 1483 г.)
Гильом Тардиф. «Искусства соколиной и псовой охоты»
«L’Art de fauconnerie et des chiens de chasse»
«Астролябия» («Astrolabium») Иоганна Энгеля (Аугсбург, Эрхард Ратдольт, 1488)