Atlant of World Cartography Gerardus Mercator

500th Anniversary of Gerardus Mercator

Atlas

After 1569, Mercator began to pursue the main dream of his life - producing an universal Cosmography which was to consist of five parts dealing with the creation of the world, the description of celestial objects, earth and seas, genealogy and history of nations, chronology. This grandiose plan was partly fulfilled.

In 1569, he published the Chronology, which laid the foundation for the other parts. It included a chronological list of political, cultural, scientific and biblical events, as well as tables of solar and lunar eclipses. Subsequently, the book was banned by the Church, because it contained information related to Martin Luther and a few other heretics.

Then Mercator published his version of Claudius Ptolemy's maps as a source for ancient geography.

In 1585 and 1589 years, he issued two volumes devoted to several countries in Europe, and that was the last lifetime editions of the great cartographer. By the end of the life, Mercator had two strokes and could not move independently, on 2 December 1594, he died.


Continuing his father's work, in 1595, his son Rumold issued a full version of the Atlas, which comprised a treatise on the creation of the world, a biography of Mercator, as well as 107 cards, 102 of which were engraved by Mercator himself. It should be noted that the collections of the maps, earlier produced by other authors, were called differently: the "Theater of the World," "Mirror of the World," etc. But Mercator was the first to name a book of maps: «Atlas, or Cosmographic Meditations on the Creation of the World and the Form of Creation», thus coining the term Atlas which is familiar to us from school.

Especially interesting is Map of Russia, included in the atlas. This was not the first map of this country in the European cartography, but the most accurate and detailed for its time.

In 1602, the heirs of Mercator undertook another edition of the Atlas, and, in 1604, the copper plates of all his maps were sold to the successful Amsterdam publisher Jodocus Hondius the Elder. He added new maps and continued to publish Mercator's Atlas in two forms: as a large fundamental Atlas and its miniature "pocket" version (the Atlas Minor). The text of the Atlas was translated into several European languages, this made it very popular. The Hondius-Mercator reduced atlas was reprinted dozens of times.


In 1639, Jan Jansson, Hondius' son-in-law, took over the business. He continued to release atlases of the world using the plates developed by his father-in-law and Gerard Mercator, but removed their names from the title page and maps.

A peculiar interpretation of Mercator's Atlas was made in Russia. In 1637, by order Tsar Mikhail Fyodorovich, the members of the Ambassadorial Office Bogdan Lykov and Ivan Dorn translated the Atlas into Russian and gave it the title: The book called Cosmography that is a description of the world and great countries». About Mercator, translators spoke with great respect, 'In this day, Gerardus Mercator depicts the whole world more precisely that all the previous authors ; this Gerardus, worthy of praise, has divided the entire great world into three parts'. Later, Cosmography formed the base for the famous Cosmography in Seventy Six Chapters (Semidesyatishestiglavaya Kosmografia) which compiled all the best and interesting geographical information from various foreign sources. This hand-written work was published in the 80s of the 19th century.

G.Mercator's anniversary was widely celebrated by the global scientific community. Monuments of Mercator were constructed in many European cities. His name was given to an observatory in South America, ships and international trains. On the eve of the anniversary date, a commemorative 100 euro coin was minted and issued by Belgium.

Atlas, or Cosmographic Meditations on the Creation of the World and the Form of Creation. Duisburg, 1595
View in the Digital Library of the NLR
Chronology. Cologne, 1569
Title page of the edition: Claudius Ptolemy's Geography. 8th Book. Amsterdam, 1605
В Электронной библиотеке РНБ
Map of the part of the Mediterranean Sea from the edition: Claudius Ptolemy's Geography. 8th Book. Amsterdam, 16055
View in the Digital Library of the NLR
Atlas of France, the Netherlands and Germany. Duisburg, 1585
Double Portrait of Gerardus Mercator (1512-1594) and Jodocus Hondius (1563-1612).
From the atlas: Gerardi Mercatoris et J. Hondii Atlas ou representation du monde universal… Amsterdam, Henry Hondius, 1633.
Title page of the atlas: Gerardi Mercatoris et J. Hondii Atlas ou representation du monde universal… Amsterdam, Henry Hondius, 1633.
Mercator Fountain ( Mercatorbrunnen - in German) in Duisburg.
Figure of Gerardus Mercator at Parc du Petit Sablon in Brussels.
100 euro coin commemorating the 500th anniversary of Mercator.

Атлант мировой картографии Герард Меркатор

К 500-летию со дня рождения Герарда Меркатора

Атлас

После 1569 г. Мекатор приступает к выполнению главного плана своей жизни – созданию всеобъемлющей Космографии, которая должна была состоять из пяти частей, посвященных сотворению мира, описанию небесных предметов, Земле и морям, генеалогии и истории государств, хронологии. Этот грандиозный замысел был воплощен в жизнь частично.

В 1569 г. вышла в свет «Хронология», служившая основанием для других частей. В нее включены хронологический список политических, культурных, научных и библейских событий, а также – таблицы солнечных и лунных затмений. Впоследствии эта книга была запрещена Католической церковью, так как в нее были включены события, связанные с Мартином Лютером и несколькими другими еретиками.

Затем Меркатор опубликовал свою версию карт Клавдия Птолемея в качестве источника по древней географии.

В 1585 и 1589 гг. были опубликованы два тома, посвященные нескольким странам Европы, и это были последние прижизненные издания великого картографа. К концу жизни Меркатор перенес два инсульта и не мог передвигаться самостоятельно, 2 декабря 1594 г. он скончался.


Продолжая дело отца в 1595 г. его сын Румолд издал полную версию атласа, включавшую трактат о сотворении мира, биографию Меркатора, а также 107 карт, 102 из которых были гравированы самим Меркатором. Следует отметить, что выпускаемые в свет до этого времени собрания карт других авторов назывались по-разному: «Зрелище мира», «Зеркало мира» и т.п. Но именно Меркатор впервые назвал своей труд: «Атлас или космографические рассуждения о сотворении мира и вид сотворенного», тем самым введя в обиход привычный нам со школьных времен термин.

Представляет значительный интерес включенная в атлас карта России. Это была не первая карта нашей страны в европейской картографии, но самая точная и подробная для своего времени.

В 1602 г. наследники Меркатора предприняли еще одно издание атласа, а 1604 г. медные доски всех его карт были проданы успешному амстердамскому издателю Йодоку Хондию. Он дополнил атлас новыми картами и продолжил издание в двух формах – большого фундаментального атласа и малого, «карманного». Текст атласа был переведен на ряд европейских языков, что сделало его весьма популярным. Малые атласы, авторами которого значились Меркатор и Хондий, выдержали десятки переизданий.

В 1639 г. дело переходит в руки Яна Янсона из Амстердама, который на основе полученных материалов продолжил выпуск атласов мира, сняв с титульного листа и карт имена своих предшественников.

Своеобразная интерпретация атласа Меркатора была выполнена и в России. В 1637 г. по указу царя Алексея Михайловича в Посольском приказе Богдан Лыков и Иван Дорн перевели на русский язык текстовую часть атласа, назвав её: «Книга, глаголемая Козмография сиречь описание сего света и государств великих». О самом Меркаторе переводчики отзывались с большим уважением: «Григориус Маркатер невдавних временех подлиннее всех книгописцев прежних пишет про весь свет; сии Григориус хвалы достойны, весь сей великий свет на три доли разделил». Впоследствии «Козмография…» стала основой известного произведения «76-ти главой Космографии» соединившей в одном тексте все лучшие и интересные географические сведения, содержавшиеся в различных иностранных источниках. Это рукописное произведение было опубликовано в 80-х годах XIX в.

Юбилей Г.Меркатора широко отмечался мировой научной общественностью. Во многих европейских городах установлены памятники Меркатору, его именем названы обсерватория в Южной Америке, морские суда и международный поезд, к юбилейной дате в Бельгии отчеканена памятная золотая монета в 100 Евро.

Атлас или космографические рассуждения о сотворении мира и вид сотворенного. Дуйсбург, 1595
В Электронной библиотеке РНБ
Хронология. Кёльн, 1569
Титульный лист изд.: География Клавдия Птолемея. Книга 8. Амстердам, 1605
В Электронной библиотеке РНБ
Карта части Средиземного моря из изд.: География Клавдия Птолемея. Книга 8. Амстердам, 1605
В Электронной библиотеке РНБ
Атлас Франции, Нидерландов и Германии. Дуйсбург, 1585
Двойной портрет Герарда Меркатора (1512-1594) и Иодокуса Хондиуса (1563-1612).
Из атласа: Gerardi Mercatoris et J. Hondii Atlas ou representation du monde universal… Amsterdam, Henry Hondius, 1633.
Титульный лист атласа: Gerardi Mercatoris et J. Hondii Atlas ou representation du monde universal… Amsterdam, Henry Hondius, 1633.
Малый атлас мира. Арнем, [1607]
В Электронной библиотеке РНБ
Фото фонтана Меркатора (немецкое название - Mercatorbrunnen) в Дуйсбурге
Фото статуи Герарда Меркатора в Parc du Petit Sablon в Брюсселе
Монета 100 Евро, выпущенная к 500-летию со дня рождения Г. Меркатора