Home page > Manuscripts > Life of St. Sergius of Radonezh > Spiritual Leader of Russia
Life of St. Sergius of Radonezh - Pachomius the Serb's  autograph

Spiritual Leader of Russia

Several generations of the Russians have been brought up by moral values that were highlights of St. Sergius of Radonezh's life. Moral principles have always been necessary to every person, and, in a general sense, morality is the same at all times and for all people. So Sergius of Radonezh is not only the patron saint of Russia, he also guides us on our life and helps in the search for our own spiritual path.

Sergius of Radonezh lived at a time when the country was gradually recovering from destruction and devastation caused by the Mongol invasion. The peaceful life was still interrupted by violent raids of the Golden Horde upon Russian cities. In the second quarter of the 14th century, there began a period of particularly strong development of monasteries in Russia. The new monastic communities differs from those existed in Russia before the Golden Yoke. In Kievan Rus', monasteries were located in cities or nearby suburbs. After cities were destroyed, most of the monasteries fell into disrepair. Monks were attracted to the isolated life of hermits and left the monasteries for the uninhabited places such as caves and forests, where they undertook the most difficult ascetic practices and became deeply immersed in prayers. The devout hermits gave an example of even greater seclusion from the world than Kiev ascetics.

New ascetic communities were springing up aroud Russia. In Novgorod region unaffected by the the Golden Yoke, there was founded the Valaam Monastery located on the isolated island in Lake Ladoga. Bishop Dionysius, an inspirer of the creation of the famous Laurentian Codex, established the Pskov-Caves Monastery where hermits settled in local caves. But the most striking representative and spiritual leader of the new monasticism became St. Sergius of Radonezh.

Under the Protection of the Holy Trinity

The main source of biographical facts about St. Sergius of Radonezh is «The Life» - one of the most famous Old Russian landmarks, that was a favorite hagiographic book to read.

St. Sergius (born Bartholomew) was a son of the Rostov nobleman Cyril, who moved with his family from the principality of Rostov ravaged by Ivan I of Moscow to the city of Radonezh near Moscow. «The Life» describes two mystical incidents which revealed the protection of the Holy Trinity. One occurred before the birth of the saint - in the womb, the baby cried three times during the liturgy. The other event happened when he was a child. Bartholomew had much difficulty learning to read. He miraculously gains the ability to learn quickly and comprehend of the dogmas of theology, after an encounter with a mysterious holy elder who blessed him.

Upon his parents' death, Bartholomew found his destined path - he went to the Monastery of the Intercession in Khotkovo near Moscow, where his older brother Stefan was a monk. He persuaded Stefan to seek for a place for reclusion from the world. The brothers found such a place to live the ascetic life in the desert forest at Makovets , about 15 km from Radonezh and 10 km from Khotkovo. In 1345, they built a small wooden church in honor of the Trinity.

So St. Sergius of Radonezh began a tradition of dedicating Russian churches to the Holy Trinity. This is hardly accidental. The Doctrine of the Trinity, representing God to be trinity in unity, was a religious embodiment of the idea of unity of the people that was realized by contemporaries as the barest necessity of the time.

The present Trinity Cathedral in the Trinity Monastery of St. Sergius, constructed of blocks of white stone in 1422, replaced the wooden Trinity Church over which it was built. The relics of St. Sergius are held in this cathedral. The greatest icon painters of medieval Russia, Andrei Rublev and Daniil Chyorny decorated the cathedral with icons and frescoes. The world celebrated icon Holy Trinity placed in the center of the Trinity Cathedral's iconostasis, was painted by Andrei Rublev, as Chronicles state, 'in praise of his Father Sergius'.

From a Hermit's Life to a Monactic Community

Unlike ancient Christians practiced asceticism in the Egyptian Thebaid, Russian hermits had to do a lot of hard manual labour under harish climatic conditions. Unable to bear the hardship of the solitary life, Stefan left his younger brother and moved to the Theophany Monastery in Moscow. But soon, Bartholomew was visited by the holy monk Mitrofan from whose hands he received the tonsure and the religious name Sergius. However, after a short time, Mitrofan returned to Hotkovo and only occasionally called on St. Sergius.

«The Life» eloquently narrates about the anchorite's asceticism and about the terrible "demonic temptations" and St. Sergius' all-embracing love. Every day a bear came to his cell, and Venerable Sergius shared his piece of bread with him.

Over time, other monks started coming to him to settle in the wild forest. Each built his own cell and planted his own vegetable garden. All of them gathered in the church for a common prayer. They asked Sergius to become their Father Superior, and he was ordained priest. «The Life» emphasizes not so much his rigid asceticism, but deepest humbleness and mildness of Father Superior Sergius. He once himself built an entrance-room in a cell of one of the monks to earn some loaves.

About 1355, Patriarch Philotheus sent a mission from Constantinople to visit St. Sergius. They handed him a letter from Patriarch of Constantinople, in which Philotheus recommended him to form a community in the monastery. After receiving a blessing from Moscow Metropolitan Alexei, the new community was established. St. Sergius carried not only spiritual responsibility, but also the entire burden of administrative and economic caries.

Sergius of Radonezh restored the type of Russian monastery, which had been formed in Kievan Rus in the 11th century, but was forgotten in the 14th century. In addition to the Trinity Monastery, St. Sergius and his disciples founded dozens of monastic communities. Among them are the Andronikov Monastery of the Saviour on the Yauza River , the Simonov Monastery on the Moskva River , the monasteries in Serpukhov, on the Kerzhach River and other.

Peacemaker and Gatherer of the Russian Lands

St. Sergius of Radonezh selflessly made the difficult step from the solitary to communal life for the sake of others. Another, even more sacrificial step of the saint was his effective pastoral service to the laymen. According to a strict hagiographic canon, the «Life» does not contain information of St. Sergius' salutary influence on the socio-political situation in the critical moments of Russian history. But historical records and chronicles have preserved the precious evidences of the saint's selfless devotion to his duties in the secular world.

Sergius of Radonezh's spiritual authority was extremely high. Grand Prince of Moscow and princes of other principalities came to his monastery for advice and blessing. Frequently, he left his beloved cloister for Moscow or other cities to baptize princely children. Metropolitan Alexei who had an enormous influence on the secular power, entrusted him important tasks to make peace between princes.

In 1365, Metropolitan Alexei sent St. Sergius in Nizhny Novgorod to resolve disagreements accompanying the gathering of the Russian lands under the leadership of Moscow.

The saint not only imposed a penance on the disobedient Prince of Nizhny Novgorod, but firmly took unprecedented measures to force Prince Boris to submit to the authority of Grand Prince: St. Sergius «closed» all churches in Nizhny Novgorod.

In 1385, St. Sergius played the role of an ambassador from Dimitry of the Don to his worst enemy Oleg of Ryazan. The result of this mission was the marriage of a daughter of Grand Prince with a son of Prince Oleg, that put an end to a bloody feud.

Seer of a Great Victory

St. Sergius of Radonezh blessed Prince Dmitry of Moscow to struggle against the Golden Horde. The Battle of Kulikovo took place on 8 September 1380 and contributed to the integration of the Russian regions. «The Life» tells the story of how the saint, foreseeing a victory, sent a letter to Prince Dmitry to notify him. The messenger managed to deliver it to the Russian army before the start of the battle. However, more recent sources such as chronicles, military novels and stories recount about the role of St. Sergius in these events more detailly.

According to more recent sources, St. Sergius not only blessed Prince of Moscow to fight, but delegated two monk-warriors to help him. They were Peresvet and Oslabia, who were 'well trained in military affairs and could command the army regiments, they also had the strength and boldness, and courage' and became heroes of the Battle of Kulikovo. Sergius of Radonezh blessed the feat of defending the fatherland. The duel between Peresvet against the Tatar champion Temir Morza (known as Chelubei) before the battle of Kulikovo is depicted in the celebrated paintings by the artists V. Vasnetsov and M. Avilov. The duel is also portrayed in the famous Illustrated Chronicle of Ivan the Terrible of the 16th century.

Chronicle reported that on the eve of the battle, the messenger from the Holy Trinity Monastery handed to Prince Dmitry bread baked at the monastery and the letter of St. Sergius, 'Without any doubt, go against them, and God and the Holy Trinity will help you'. During all the fight, St. Sergius prayed unceasingly and his inner eye saw the battlefield, he named the fallen soldiers killed on the Don to the brethren. Today, the Kulikovo Field is a museum complex including a memorial church in honour of St. Sergius of Radonezh, which was errected in 1913-1918 by the famous architect Alexey Shchusev.

Harmony of Spiritual Achievements and Service for People

The «Life» tells the story of the many miracles of the saint and his visions. Sergius of Radonezh was the first Russian saint to see a vision of the Blessed Virgin. Wonders and miraculous apparitions described in the «Life» are signs of spiritual achievements of the ascetic. St. Sergius of Radonezh harmoniously combined the incompatible: detachment from the world and sacrificial service for the public good. Howerver, all worldly concerns still have less significance for him than spiritual struggle. The «Life» narrates that Metropolitan Alexius, before his death, asked St. Sergius to become his successor, but Sergius of Radonezh declined.

A spiritual follower and younger «companion» of St. Sergius was St. Cyril of Beloozero (died in 1427). The «Life of St. Cyril» reported about their private meetings. Cyril became a monk in the Simonov Monastery founded by St. Sergius of Radonezh. When St. Sergeius visited the Simonov monastery, he first came to Cyril with whom he spoke for hours about "the benefits for the soul".

We also can communicate with St. Sergius of Radonezh when viewing «Holy Trinity» painted by Andrei Rublev in honour of the saint. Looking at it, we plung into the atmosphere of endless meditation, get deeply absorbed in thoughts and feel an extraordinary inflow of joy and purity.

Житие преподобного Сергия Радонежского – автограф Пахомия Логофета
English

Светоч Земли Русской

Жизнь преподобного Сергия Радонежского проявляет те нравственные идеалы, на которых воспитывалось не одно поколение наших предков. Нравственное начало всегда было необходимо человеку – в общем смысле нравственность едина во все времена и для всех людей. Поэтому Сергий Радонежский для нас – не только святой покровитель России, но и великий наставник в поисках нашего собственного духовного пути.

Земная жизнь Сергия Радонежского протекала в то время, когда Русь начинала подниматься после разорения и опустошения, причиненного монгольским нашествием. Постепенно восстанавливалось мирное течение жизни, хотя и прерывавшееся жестокими золотоордынскими набегами на русские города (Ахмылова рать – 1322 г., Федорчукова рать – 1328 г.). Во второй четверти XIV в. возникает новое иноческое подвижничество, отличавшееся от того, которое существовало на Руси до золотоордынского ига. В Киевской Руси монастыри были городскими или же располагались в ближайших пригородах. С разорением городов большинство этих монастырей пришло в упадок. Переживание культурно-общественного потрясения эпохи монгольского нашествия влекло иноков к отшельничеству. Они уходили из монастырей в пустыню, в леса, брали на себя труднейший духовный подвиг, погружаясь в созерцательную молитву, и давали пример еще большей отрешенности от мира, чем подвижники киевские.

Новое аскетическое движение пробуждается на Руси в разных местах. В Новгородской земле, не подвергшейся золотоордынскому разорению, монах Сергий пришел на Валаам, а другой монах, Кирилл, основал Челмскую обитель в Каргопольском уезде. Епископ Нижегородский и Суздальский Дионисий – идейный вдохновитель создания знаменитой Лаврентьевской летописи – учредил свой Печерский монастырь. Но наиболее ярким представителем и учителем нового иночества стал преподобный Сергий Радонежский.


Под сенью Святой Троицы

Основным источником биографических сведений о преподобном Сергии Радонежском является «Житие» – один из наиболее известных агиографических памятников, входивших в круг излюбленного чтения на Руси.

Преподобный Сергий (в миру Варфоломей Кириллович) был сыном ростовского боярина Кирилла, который переселился с семьей из разоренного при Иване Калите Ростовского княжества в город Радонеж в Московском княжестве. «Житие» описывает два мистических события, предопределивших покровительство Святой Троицы. Одно произошло еще до рождения святого – в материнской утробе младенец трижды возгласил во время литургии. Другое событие относится к детским годам. Отрок Варфоломей, которому с большим трудом давалась грамота, по благословению некоего таинственного старца сверхъестественным образом обретает способность к книжному учению и постижению догматов богословия.

После смерти родителей, которые в последние годы приняли монашеский постриг, Варфоломей сам находит предназначенный ему путь – идет в Покровский монастырь в Хотьково и убеждает своего старшего брата Стефана, монаха, уже постригшегося в Хотькове, искать с ним место для отшельничества. Братья обрели место для пустынножительства в лесном урочище Маковец, в 14-ти верстах от Радонежа и в 10-ти верстах от Хотькова. Здесь они поставили (ок. 1345 г.) первую лесную деревянную церковь и освятили ее во имя Пресвятой Троицы.

Так преподобный Сергий Радонежский начинает на Руси традицию посвящения храмов Святой Троице. Вряд ли это случайно. Учение о Троице, представляющей в троичности единую сущность – «едину силу, едину власть, едино господство», было своеобразным религиозным воплощением идеи единства, которое ощущалось современниками как насущная потребность общественной жизни.

Ныне существующий в Троице-Сергиевой лавре Троицкий собор, выстроенный из белого камня в 1422 г. над погребением преподобного на месте трех сменявших друг друга деревянных церквей, первоначально был расписан лучшими мастерами того времени – Андреем Рублевым и Даниилом Черным. Для иконостаса этого собора создана всемирно известная «Троица», написанная Андреем Рублевым, как отмечают летописи, «в похвалу отцу своему Сергию».

От пустынножительства – к общежительному монастырю

В отличие от египетской Фиваиды, где подвизались древние христианские аскеты, суровая к человеку русская природа требовала не только молитвы и созерцания, но и тяжелого физического труда. Не выдержав тягот, Стефан покинул своего младшего брата и ушел в московский Богоявленский монастырь. Но вскоре в пустыню приходит священноинок Митрофан, от руки которого Варфоломей и принимает монашеский постриг. Однако и Митрофан недолгое время пробыл в пустыни – отойдя в Хотьково, он лишь изредка навещал преподобного Сергия.

«Житие» выразительно рассказывает об отшельническом подвижничестве Сергия Радонежского – и о страшных «бесовских искушениях», и о его всеобъемлющей любви. Каждый день к келье преподобного приходил из лесу дикий медведь, с которым святой делил свой хлеб.

О прошествии времени к преподобному начали приходить другие монахи и селиться в пустыни: каждый ставил себе келью, возделывал свой огород. Все собирались в храме для общей молитвы. По просьбе братии преподобный Сергий принял священнический сан и стал игуменом образовавшегося «особножительного» монастыря. «Житие» подчеркивает не столько суровость аскезы, сколько смиренную кротость игумена Сергия. Он однажды даже нанялся к одному из монахов строить сени к келье за решето гнилых хлебцев.

Ок. 1355 г. к преподобному Сергию в монастырь прибыли послы константинопольского патриарха. Они передали Сергию грамоту, в которой патриарх предлагал ему ввести в монастыре общежительный устав. Преподобный Сергий отправился с патриаршей грамотой в Москву на совет с митрополитом. Получив благословение, Сергий Радонежский вводит в своем монастыре общежительный порядок, взяв на себя не только духовную ответственность, но и все бремя административных и хозяйственных забот. Так новый иноческий путь, основоположником которого явился преподобный Сергий, органично соединился с древней, домонгольской традицией русского монашества.

Сергий Радонежский восстановил тот тип русского монастыря, который сложился в Киевской Руси в XI в., но к началу XIV в. оказался забытым, так как сама киновийная жизнь была разрушена еще в XII в. Помимо Троицкого монастыря, сам преподобный Сергий и его ученики основали десятки общежительных монастырей. Среди них Спасо-Андроников на реке Яузе, Симонов на реке Москве, монастыри в Серпухове, на Кержаче и другие.


Миротворец и собиратель русских земель

Преподобный Сергий Радонежский самоотверженно сделал трудный шаг от отшельничества к общежитию, отдав на благо других то, что считал своим духовным благом. Другой, еще более жертвенный шаг преподобного – его действенное пастырское служение в миру. В «Житии», подчиненном строгому агиографическому канону, не нашли отражения факты благотворного влияния преподобного Сергия на общественно-политическую ситуацию в критические моменты русской истории. Зато летописи и исторические сказания сохранили для нас драгоценные свидетельства о подвижничестве святого в миру.

Духовный авторитет Сергия Радонежского был чрезвычайно высок. Московский князь и удельные князья приезжали к нему в монастырь за советом и благословением, часто он сам покидал свою любезную обитель и шествовал в Москву или другие города, чтобы крестить княжеских детей. Митрополит Алексей, обладавший огромным влиянием на светскую власть, поручал преподобному Сергию ответственные политические миссии.

В 1365 г. митрополит Алексей посылает преподобного Сергия в Нижний Новгород для разрешения междоусобных княжеских разногласий, которыми сопровождался процесс «собирания» русских земель под эгидой Москвы.

Преподобный не только наложил епитимию на строптивого нижегородского князя Бориса Константиновича, но решительно пошел на беспрецедентные меры – он «затворил» все храмы в Нижнем Новгороде, чтобы вынудить князя к подчинению.

В 1385 г. преподобный Сергий выступил послом Дмитрия Донского к его злейшему врагу рязанскому князю Олегу Ивановичу. Результатом этой миссии стал брак дочери Дмитрия Донского с сыном Олега Рязанского, угасивший кровопролитную вражду.


Провидец великой победы

Каждый россиянин знает о том, что преподобный Сергий Радонежский благословил московского князя Дмитрия на национально-освободительную борьбу против Золотой Орды. Куликовская битва произошла 8 сентября 1380 г. и стала импульсом исторического самосознания русского народа и прогрессивных тенденций политического объединения русских земель. «Житие» повествует о том, как преподобный, предвидя победу, известил об этом князя Дмитрия посланием. Грамоту преподобного Сергия гонец успел доставить в русское войско перед самым началом Куликовского сражения. Однако более поздние источники – летописи, воинские повести и сказания – гораздо подробнее рассказывают о роли преподобного Сергия в этих событиях.

Согласно позднейшим источникам, преподобный Сергий не только благословил московского князя на бой, но дал ему двух иноков-воинов, «зело умеющих ратному делу, и полки управляти, еще же и силу имущих, и удальство, и смельство», – Пересвета и Ослябю. Своим деянием Сергий Радонежский освятил ратный подвиг защиты отечества. Поединок инока-воина Пересвета с татарским богатырем Темир-Мурзой (Челубеем) перед началом Куликовского сражения памятен нам по известным живописным полотнам художников В. М. Васнецова и М. И. Авилова. Представлен этот сюжет и в знаменитом Лицевом летописном своде XVI века.

Летописи сообщают, что перед самым началом битвы посланец из Троицкого монастыря передал князю Дмитрию испеченный в монастыре хлеб и послание преподобного Сергия: «Без всякого сомнения изыди противу их, а поможет ти Бог и Святая Троица». Все то время, пока продолжалась битва, преподобный Сергий непрестанно молился и внутренним оком видел поле сражения, называя братии имена павших. Сегодня на Куликовом поле стоит храм, освященный во имя преподобного Сергия Радонежского.


Гармония духовного подвига и общественного служения

«Житие» повествует о многочисленных чудесах святого и бывших ему видениях. Сергий Радонежский – первый русский святой, удостоившийся явления Пречистой Богородицы. Описанные в «Житии» чудеса и знамения – это лишь знаки той мистической духовной жизни подвижника, суть которой не может быть передана словесным повествованием, даже повествованием агиографическим. Жертвенное служение на общее благо и мирские заботы в жизни преподобного Сергия все же не достигали той невидимой грани, за которой простиралась непостижимая глубина его духовного подвига. «Житие» рассказывает о том, как митрополит Алексей перед своей кончиной желал видеть своим преемником преподобного Сергия и как преподобный решительно отказался принять святительский сан.

В подвиге преподобного Сергия Радонежского удивительно гармонично сочеталось несовместимое. Впоследствии, в истории русского монашества XV–XVI вв. эти стороны разойдутся и образуются два направления, в равной степени восходящие к одному учителю, – это так называемые «нестяжатели» и «иосифляне». Обе линии имели начало в Троице-Сергиевой лавре – одна шла на юг, к Москве, а другая на север, в лесные пустыни по Волге и в Заволжье.

Духовным последователем и младшим «собеседником» преподобного Сергия был Кирилл Белозерский (ум. 1427 г.). Их личные встречи описаны в «Житии» Кирилла. Преподобный Кирилл принял постриг в основанном Сергием Радонежским Симонове монастыре. Когда Сергий приходил в Симонов монастырь, он прежде всего заходил в хлебню к Кириллу, с которым беседовал часами «о пользе душевной».

«Собеседниками» преподобного Сергия Радонежского становимся и мы, когда предстоим написанной кистью Андрея Рублева «Троице» – духовному и эмоциональному «портрету» преподобного Сергия, – погружаясь в атмосферу бесконечного созерцания, настраиваясь на глубокие проникновенные размышления и ощущая необыкновенный приток радости и чистоты.