Books from the «Faust Study»

500 Years of the Skaryna Bible:
coloured books from the «Faust Study»

Prague Printing House

Printing is the best way of reproducing the Bible for everyone. However, buying new printing equipment takes large money. It is much cheaper to hire a ready printing press and necessary accessories for printing. In Prague of the 16th century, different people hired the merchant Severin's printery for their book projects. To hold a monopoly of his printing house, Severin rented it out. The first to rent Severin's printing house was a master who published the Prague Bible in 1488. The shop was also used by the printer, now called the master of Koranda1. At the early 16th century, the Jewish printers published the Siddur (prayer book) in this printing shop. Here, Gershom Cohen could work on the completion of the Jewish Pentateuch, and, in 1513, Bessus v. Moravus issued the confession of faith of the Utraquists (representatives of the Hussite revolutionary movement), which ended with the printed coat of arms of Prague. Skaryna appeared in Prague around 1515. For him, the Utraquists were well understood: they also believed, like the Orthodox, in the sacrament of bread and wine.

Until the autumn of 1517, Dr. Skaryna prepared his future publications: he made translations of texts from Czech into his native language, at the same time, he commissioned artists to make engravings and ornamental headpiecess, bought some finished woodcuts. There were no movable types in Prague, so Skaryna had to go to one of the German printing centers (perhaps it was Nuremberg) to produce type pieces. It was necessary to keep in touch with Vilna and Polotsk: the main customer and sponsor of the publications, the member of the city magistrate Bogdan Onkov lived in the capital and Francysk's brother, who continued his father's trade and dealt in leather, was a resident of Polotsk.

The modern Czech researcher Petr Voit has proved that in the early 16th century, seven Prague printmakers engraved illustrations for books, three of them collaborated with Skaryna. These were the so-called Master IP, the Master of the refined stroke and the universal Master of Skaryna's decoration. The first two worked simultaneously for the Jews and Utraquists printers2.

Each Skorina's biblical book contains illustrations: among them are initial letters with coloured images, ornamental and figured headpieces, engravings - the entire illustrative cycle consists of 38 cliches. In the engravings, one can found quotes from the editions of the Nuremberg typographer Anton Koberger, for example, from the «Book of Chronicles from the Creation of the World with Figures and Images» of 1493 by Hartmann Schedel or «Postilla super totam Bibliam» of 1481 by Nicholas of Lyra. The Prague masters made some characters of the engravings similar to real figures of their time. In the engraving «Moses in Front of the People», the first line of Israelis consist of three figures with individual traits that allow experts to identify them with the Czech King George of Poděbrady (a fat man with a mustache standing to the righ) and two Jagiellonian kings of Hungary: Vladislaus II († 1516) and Louis II (†1526). King Vladislaus probably depicted in the scene of Solomon and the Queen of Sheba. Louis II, during whose reign Skorina worked in Prague, looks like King Solomon on the illustration of the Solomon Court. The broad-cheekboned Samson on Skoryna's engraving is similar to the King of Poland and the Grand Duke of Lithuania Sigismund I the Old. In the scene of the Siege of Jerusalem, the city of Jerusalem resembles the Prague New Town with the Emmaus Benedictine Church in the middle. Some engravings in Skaryna's books are executed more elaborately than in modern Czech and German editions. It applies, for example, to the images of Job or Judith who killed King Alafernes.

In 1519, F. Skaryna stopped printing in Prague. The reason why the project was not finished is unknown. It is not also known whether the purpose of the original project was publishing all the books of the Bible. Perhaps, having seen the impossibility of working further and having estimated the work already done, he changed the attitude towards the project. Skorina made a common title page, on which he printed in cinnabar: "Biblia Russka (The Russian Bible)". Under this title page, it was possible to collect previously published books in a large volume, and the books were sold both wholesale and retail. However, no such volume compiled in the 16th century has been survived, it was recreated only in the 19th century in the Imperial Public Library in St. Petersburg. Perhaps,this happened because Skaryna sent printed books to Vilna immediately; some editions of 1517-1518 had been sold out by 1519.

Page from the «Book of Chronicles» («Liber cronicarum») Hartmann Schedel. Nuremberg, 1493. From the National Library of Russia.
http://expositions.nlr.ru/eng/faust/cronicarum.php
Page from the «Book of Chronicles» («Liber cronicarum») Hartmann Schedel. Augsburg, 1497. From the National Library of Russia.
http://expositions.nlr.ru/eng/faust/cronicarum.php
Coloured copy of Martin Luther's Bible. Wittenberg, 1541. From the National Library of Russia.
From the «Fables of Aesop» (Aesopus, Vita et Fabulae, Strasbourg, 1481). From the National Library of Russia.
http://expositions.nlr.ru/eng/faust/birds.php
Close the window
Vaclav Koranda (†1453) – Hussite preacher.
Close the window
Petr Voit. New information on work of
Francysk Skaryna in Prague (1517–1519)
//Vilniaus universiteto bibliotekos metraštis. 2015. Vilnius, 2015. P. 347..

Книга из «Кабинета Фауста»

500 лет с начала издания Франциском Скориной книг Библии:
раскрашенные экземпляры из Кабинета Фауста

Пражская типография

Лучший способ дать Библию «к доброму научению» каждого – тиражировать её печатанием. Однако нужны большие свободные деньги, чтобы изготовить новый комплект типографского оборудования. Намного дешевле — взять в аренду уже готовый типографский станок и необходимые для печатания принадлежности в Праге, в доме купца Северина — дабы сохранять монополию своей типографии, Северин сдавал её в аренду. Разные люди шли сюда для реализации книжных проектов, снимая мастерскую со всем необходимым, а значит избавяясь от части инвестиционных затрат. Первым арендатором у Северина был мастер, напечатавший Пражскую Библию 1488 г. Поскольку он не работал на постоянной основе, мастерской пользовался также печатник, ныне именуемый мастером Коранды1. В начале 16 века мастерскую арендовали еврейские книгопечатники, издавшие в 1515 г. Сидур (молитвенник), здесь с перерывами мог работать над завершением еврейского Пятикнижия Гершом Коэн, а также Ян Моравский (Ян Моравус), издавший в декабре 1513 г. утраквистское исповедание веры: O veře svaté, которое завершалось печатным гербом Пражского Града. Для Франциска Скорины, который появился в Праге около 1515 г., утраквисты, считавшие, как и православные, необходимым причащение и хлебом и вином, были хорошо понятны.

До осени 1517 г. доктор Скорина занимался технической подготовкой своей будущей издательской деятельности – делал переводы текстов на родной язык и одновременно заказывал мастерам гравюры и орнаментальные заставки, купил некоторые готовые доски-ксилографии. Шрифты в Праге изготовить было некому — нужно было ехать в один из немецких типографских центров (возможно это был Нюренберг), чтобы заказать там. Небходимо было поддерживать связь с Вильной и Полоцком: в столице жил основной заказчик (и спонсор) издания, член городского магистрата Богдан Онков, а в Полоцке — брат Франциска, который продолжая дело отца торговал кожами.

Современный чешский исследователь Пётр Войт показал, что в начале 16 века в Праге гравированные иллюстрации изготовляли семь мастеров, три из которых сотрудничали со Скориной. Это были так называемые Мастер ІР, Мастер утонченного штриха и универсальный Мастер скорининского декора. Два первых одновременно работали для евреев и ультраквистских печатников2.

Каждая книга Библии скорининской печати имеет иллюстрации: это буквицы с рисованными изображениями, орнаментальные и фигурные заставки, сюжетные гравюры – весь иллюстративный цикл состоит из 38 клише. В гравюрах можно найти цитаты из изданий нюрнбергского типографа Антона Кобергера, например «Книги хроник от создания мира с фигурами и изображениями» Гартмана Шеделя 1493 г. или Postilla super totam Bibliam Николая де Лира 1481 г. Пражские мастера, которые выполнили гравюры для книг Скорины сделали некоторых персонажей похожими на реальных деятелей своего времени. В гравюре «Моисей перед народом» первый ряд израильтян представляют три фигуры, имеющие индивидуальные черты, позволяющие (Петру Войту) отождествить их с чешскими королями Йиржи из Подебрад (стоящий справа толстоватый мужчина с усами) и двумя Ягеллонами: Владиславом (†1516) и Людвиком (†1526). Король Владислав Ягеллон вероятно изображен и в сцене Соломон и царица Савская, а Людвик Ягеллон, в чьё правление в Праге работал Скорина, похож на царя Соломона на иллюстрации Суд Соломона. Широкоскулый Самсон на гравюре Скорины похож на короля Польши и великого князя литовского Сигизмунда 1 Старого. В сюжетной гравюре Осада Иерусалима город Иерусалим напоминает Пражский Новый град с Эммауским бенедиктинским монастырём посередине. В ряде случаем гравюры в книгах Скорины выполнены более искусно, чем в современных чешских и немецких изданиях, это касается, напиример, изображения Иова или Юдифи, убившей царя Алаферна.

В 1519 г. Ф. Скорина прекратил печатание в Праге. Причина, по которой проект был не закончен неизвестна, как, впрочем, не известно, был ли первоначально проект издания всех книг Библии. Возможно, что увидев невозможность работать дальше и оценив объём уже выполненой работы он изменил отношение к проекту: изготовил общий титульный лист, на котором киноварью напечатано: «Библия руска». Под этим титульным листом можно было собрать ранее изданные книги, в результате чего получался увесистый том, а книги продавались и оптом и в розницу. Однако ни одного такого тома, собранного в 16 столетии не сохранилось, он был воссоздан лишь в 19 веке в Императорской Публичной библиотеке в Санкт-Петербурге. Вполне возможно это случилось потому, что Скорина тиражи напечатанных книг сразу отправлял в Вильну; некоторые издания 1517-1518 годов к 1519 г. могли разойтись.

Страница из «Книга хроник» («Liber cronicarum») Гартмана Шеделя. Нюрнберг, 1493 г. Экземпляр РНБ.
http://expositions.nlr.ru/faust/cronicarum.php
Страница из «Книга хроник» («Liber cronicarum») Гартмана Шеделя. Аусбург, 1497 г. Экземпляр РНБ.
http://expositions.nlr.ru/faust/cronicarum.php
Раскраска экземпляра «Библии» Мартина Лютера. Виттенберг, 1541 г. Экземпляр РНБ.
Из книги «Басни Эзопа» (Aesopus. Vita et Fabulae. Страсбург, 1481). Экземпляр РНБ.
http://expositions.nlr.ru/faust/birds.php
Закрыть окно
Вацлав Коранда (†1453) – гуситский проповедник;
сформулировал и распространял идеи таборитов.
Закрыть окно
Voit Petr Новые сведения о деятельности
Франциска Скорины в Праге (1517–1519)
//Vilniaus universiteto bibliotekos metraštis. 2015. Vilnius, 2015. P. 347..